3 H Blog

Becoming Happy, Healthy, and Holy

Sewing With Purpose July 4, 2008

Filed under: Giving,Happiness,Sewing Projects,Volunteer — miss3h @ 12:20 am

A huge “thank you” to Joanna who had this awesome idea! Her mother-in-law is in a group and she thought I would like to join. Boy, was she RIGHT!

I don’t have 100% of the specifics but here is the gist of it:
It is a sewing group. They meet every Thursday and one Saturday per month. They sew newborn clothes with donated fabric. The clothes are then donated to the local low-income hospital for those who are in need. I love it!

I did have to admit that I have only sewn aprons and some 100 or 200 scrunchies in the 1990’s. lol
No problem. They are gonna show me the ropes. This will be so fun and rewarding. I can’t wait to get started! There will be many updates on this in the near future. I’m going to my first meeting on Thursday. I’ll keep you posted on this!
*********************************************************************
I am out of my funk. Pretty much. I did finally clean up some around my house and this sewing stuff has me very excited. Next month I’ll be starting more classes too, so I am bound to be busy. It’s still hard, but I’m trying to keep my chin up. I like making things for others when I am down. It keeps me so busy and I love how they treasure the gifts. It is a true win-win situation.

 

2 Responses to “Sewing With Purpose”

  1. The sewing group sounds awesome! What a great cause and you’ll have fun, too! I don’t sew, but reading about your sewing makes me want to get back into knitting. I’m so happy to see you are coming out of your funk and back to life! Woo hoo! Big Hugs!

  2. miss3h Says:

    It sounds really fun, and my sister is hoping to have a baby next summer. I am sure I will have lots of opportunities to use my new talents soon! 🙂


Leave a Reply

