3 H Blog

Becoming Happy, Healthy, and Holy

Free Quiet Time Basket? Cool! June 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — miss3h @ 11:58 pm

Christian Women Online is giving away an AWESOME “quiet time” basket, filled with everything a woman could want when having her personal bible study at home. Click to see the goodies! It is HUGE and has a few bible studies, highlighters, snacks, you name it!

I am entering to win the basket! Actually, I began a study at home today. It is from Lifeway Christian Stores and is called “Lord, Change My Attitude” by James MacDonald and Barb Peil. I did the first lesson today after dance class and it really changed my perspective on complaining. I mainly complain at work: who is not pulling their weight, who left me a horrible tip, my feet hurt, I’m bored, blah blah blah…yeah I’m even tired of my own complaints! This lesson showed how complaining is sin and this line hit me most: (emphasis mine)

“All the grace and strength you need to experience joy and victory are available to you; but by choosing to complain by cliniging to the idol of a perfect life, you are flushing away the grace of God.”

Just think about that for a minute. Because we tend to want the “American dream” or our own version of a perfect life, we choose to complain when we hit a snag. Instead of brushing it off, we sweat the small stuff until our complaints override our thankfulness. We lose the feeling of gratefulness and grace when we choose to cling to the ideal that life should be perfect.

I wrote a ton in my journal about how I am going to change this horrible habit of complaining at work. Here’s a scripture that you can repeat to yourself when you feel like complaining:

Philippians 2:14-15 says, “Do all things without grumbling or questioning, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights of the world.”

Winning the basket would be great…but the real reward is the lessons I am learning and the time I am spending reading God’s word, growing closer to Him.

 

One Response to “Free Quiet Time Basket? Cool!”

  1. Johna49 Says:

    very nice submit, i definitely love this website, keep on it addkddgdbebk


Leave a Reply

