3 H Blog

Becoming Happy, Healthy, and Holy

Lesser of Evils May 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — miss3h @ 4:48 pm

I find it quite sad and disturbing that at a the drop of a hat, any one of us could blurt out something negative about the Presidential candidates. On the other hand, how many of us know any of the good things each candidate has accomplished? Why does it seem that we always have to pick the lesser of evils when voting? Why can’t we just get the facts…including positive ones?

This way of campaigning turns me off to paying any attention at all. It is this way of campaigning that confuses the common voter or makes them not vote at all. Perhaps if we could see what the candidates were like, really, instead of what they want to be portrayed as, then things would be different.

All these people call themselves Christians…the candidates that is. And yet, I don’t think God would approve of winning by simply making your opponents appear to be worse than you.

I will pray for our country and that we would again begin to care about what the real issues are, not just what we see in an advertisement. Or on the color of skin, or on a person’s gender, or what not. Those are not issues. They say nothing about how a particular person will shape the country’s future for the next four years. And to even have these candidates’ race and gender be the main focus shows me that we haven’t come that far as a country. If race and gender were no longer a criteria in Presidency, why all the hype? I surely would not want to win just because I was a woman. I would want to win because of who I was and where I stood on the issues.

Just some things to think about… 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Lesser of Evils”

  1. Pink Bren Says:

    I know of two of the canidates that you can tell how they stand because they vote. However the third one seems to think that it is not that important to be at work so therefore he votes present on most votes. I know that I will be voting for John McCain. Why because he is the one that votes and it seems has the same morals that I do. I personally voted in the Texas primary and I voted for Huckabee. I think that our Country as a Country needs to get back to the basics and with saying that I mean that we need to turn back to the Lord. We have Kicked Him out of our schools and now look at our schools. We have kicked Him out of our Government and look at it. We allow doctors to kill babies before they even have a chance at life. I am doing a Bible study by Anne Granham Lotz “I SAW THE LORD”. I haven’t gotten very far however it is all about prayer, and seeing God and listening to that still small voice. So this is something to think about. I hope that I haven’t offended anyone however these are my convictions and I will stand on them. HAVE A BLESSED DAY IN THE LORD. Brenda

  2. Pink Bren Says:

    OK, I have to say one more thing. The word says “IF MY PEOPLE WHO ARE CALLED BY MY NAME WILL HUMBLE THEMSELVES, AND PRAY AND SEEK MY FACE, AND TURN FROM THEIR WICKED WAYS THEN I WILL HEAR FROM HEAVEN AND WILL FORGIVE THEIR SIN AND HEAL THEIR LAND” 2 Chromicles7-14. This is what needs to happen in the GREATest Country in the world. However if we don’t I don’t see it getting any better. When we as a nation turn our backs on God we are left with what we have and look it is not good.


Leave a Reply

