3 H Blog

Becoming Happy, Healthy, and Holy

Dancin’ Machine! May 13, 2008

Filed under: Cool Links,Dieting,Happiness,Weight Loss — miss3h @ 3:35 pm

I have decided to take up dancing again. This time not for recitals and all like I did “back in the day”. This time it is to reap the fun and fitness benefits. Last night I went to my first dance class in 10 years!!! Wow. Needless to say, I was ..um….rusty. And trying to do the moves with 35 extra pounds on me…yeah, it was a new experience. But looking at your flab in a full length mirror for an hour and a half is VERY motivating. 🙂

I really love this studio I found though. They offer Yoga, Nia, Lyrical Jazz (this is the one I went to last night), Pilates, and Ball classes. Another class I want to try out is “Dance and Tone”. I am gonna cancel my 24 hour fitness membership and just do this twice a week. Then on the other days I will just run on treadmill or outside and a few weights in my apartment gym.

This is so exciting! Last night I really concentrated on form more than felt like I was “working out” and the other ladies were super nice.

If your workout leaves you dreading it, I suggest finding a fresh alternative. It will benefit you in both body and soul. 🙂

Check out the link and see if there is a studio similar near you!
http://www.movestudio.com/

 

2 Responses to “Dancin’ Machine!”

  1. I just took a master class on Friday with a company from the Netherlands. They were Leine & Roebana and the style was very organic–movement came from the core. I could feel sleeping muscles waking up. It felt great to move! 🙂

  2. miss3h Says:

    Cool! I am going tonight to take “Cardio Latin Dance” and buy my pass that will end up lasting me 3 mo if I take 2 classes a week. Lyrical was pretty hard for me since 1) I am embarrassed in my current shape (weight and out of shape state) and 2) I wasn’t an awesome dancer even when I did it regularly. I did it for fun, although I used to be decent…now I just plain suck. I might go back this week anyway though. That class only goes through the end of May.


Leave a Reply

