3 H Blog

Becoming Happy, Healthy, and Holy

Gratitude Journal March 26, 2008

Filed under: Gratitude,Happiness,Peace,Solutions — miss3h @ 10:52 pm

“Be thankful. Cultivate an ‘attitude of gratitude.’ Thankfulness is much more dependent on attitude than circumstance. When you feel the lack of what you don’t have, thank God for what you do have! At any time, there is more going right in the life of a committed Christian than there is going wrong. It’s just that the ‘wrong’ makes a lot more noise than the ‘right’.” ~Jim Stephens, GraceNotes

When times get really tough in my life (as they have been lately), I try to combat my feelings of helplessness with an attitude of change. “What can I control in this situation?” “What can I do to make steps toward a solution?”

One thing that helps me is keeping a “gratitude journal” or a journal like this one . In mine, there is a place to fill in the blank on what was best about the day, what inspired me, and what I did to inspire others. On the back of each page, there is blank space for writing a prayer, personal goals, or what I was grateful for that day. You can challenge yourself to think of 5 different things each day for one week and see if your outlook changes. Some days, it may be hard to see the good in your life, but it will be well worth it.

Do you think this would help you in your daily life? Are you willing to give it a shot?

 

5 Responses to “Gratitude Journal”

  1. Peace be upon you,

    Thank you for sharing such a worthwhile post- I think it could help us realise how much we have. Our focus today is always on what we don’t have….

    Kind regards,

    Dont be sad

  2. This is a good idea and I think I’ll have to give it a shot. I hope you are doing well. šŸ™‚

  3. Darla Says:

    So easy to forget to be thankful isn’t it? Thanks for the reminder.

    I’m thankful for you! And of course Miss Shades of Pink too. šŸ™‚

    Funny how life turns out isn’t it? Things comes full circle….and yet the only want to the other side is through…and sometimes that aint pretty. It’s good to be reminded of the “thankful” things in life.

  4. Thanks, Darla! I’m thankful for you ladies, too. šŸ˜€

  5. Angie Says:

    Ya know when I was in the throes of a deep deep depression many years ago, I started a journal like this.. I really believe with all my heart that it helped me to be more aware of all my blessings. I remember some days it was really tough. Tough to think of anything so I would Thank Him for being able to see, my daughter, being able to walk most of the time. Stuff like that.

    Thank you for sharing this awesome post.
    Love and hugs to all of you


Leave a Reply

