3 H Blog

Becoming Happy, Healthy, and Holy

Family February 21, 2008

Filed under: Family,Happiness,Poems — miss3h @ 1:24 am

As I grow older, I value family more and more. It really is a funny cycle: In infancy, we love to be surrounded by family. As we grow into teens, we cannot stand our families at times. Even as young adults, friends often seem more important than our families. But as I grow closer to my 30s (I am now 27), I see my family as a highly regarded aspect of my life.

Here is a poem for thought today by Craig S. Tunks:

“One of the greatest gifts
That life can give to anyone
Is the very special love that families share…
As years go by,
It’s good to know that there will always be
Certain people in our lives who care.
For there are countless things
That only families have in common
And memories that no one else can make…
And these precious ties that bind a family together
Are bonds that time and distance cannot break.
How fortunate we are
When we have relatives to love us,
It makes the world a happy place to be…
Few gifts in life
Will last as long
Or touch the heart as deeply
As the very special gift
Of family.”

Although everyone has family problems, family is one of the most important aspects to my happiness. Does your family add to your happiness? Do you have any special family traditions?

 

9 Responses to “Family”

  1. sabrina Says:

    Oh, definitely! I am very fortunate to have a very close extended family. I’m very close to my mother’s family (one of my aunts is actually my neighbor), and its rare for a weekend to go by without some (if not all) of us getting together. While I was away at college that was the toughest part for me….being away from the family (especially during their parties!). It also influenced me to move back to my hometown after I graduated.

    Family is such a great source of support and encouragement….as much as I’ve gotten annoyed with them in the past, I wouldn’t be who I am now if it wasn’t for them!

  2. I come from a close knit family as well. My extended family is primarily in the neighboring state, but we would always visit them regularly. We used to take group vacations when my cousins and I were all little. Those were so much fun. We are still doing it to this day! Family is very important to me. They are my life line.

  3. FreeFromItAll Says:

    You are SO LUCKY to have family. Both my parents passed away by the time I was 22. Cherish each day as I know you already do. *heart8

  4. exemployee Says:

    kudos

  5. I am sooo blessed for having been born to a big happy family. I am the eighth of nine and we are very close. We would see each other about every 2 weeks and each gathering is almost like a reunion – with the spouses and kids. 😉
    The thing is, I am half a world far away from them. Even then, I am always very thankful for being part of one wonderful family. I miss them, though. I can’t wait until December when I can go home and see all of them again with my family.

  6. I have some news that I wanted share about my family, if you will please oblige…..

    My brother contacted me last week and apologized for everything that has happened in the past 15 years and asked to be a part of my life again.

    It’s a really long story, but I wanted to share that on here, since I posted about both my parents passing away and didn’t mention my my estranged brother.

    That being said, I now have the “living” members of my family back in my life again. This is something I have prayed for for 15 solid years, EVERY day.

    Thanks for letting me share.

  7. miss3h Says:

    Darla: I am so happy the Lord has answered your prayer. It will be great for you and your brother to have each other and start fresh.

  8. Big Hugs for Darla. 😀 Congratulations on your new beginning!

  9. Angie Says:

    I am the oldest of 6. (That’s why I’m so freaking crazy)! 🙂

    Sadly my Mom and Dad passed away within 2 years of each other about 17 years ago. Two of my brothers have died. One before my parents by a ‘drunk driver’. If it were not for our faith and knowing he and my baby brother was with God, I just don’t know how you can heal and accept some things that life hands out to us. In the last 4 years we have lost 3 very close family members.

    I am so blessed to have my remaining family. I praise God for them every day. When it comes down to the nitty gritty and you really really need like you never thought you would need. They will be there. If they cannot be physically there, you still know they are there with you in spirit and in their prayers and support for you. Though we are now very small and separated by many miles, We know we love each other no matter what we do to disappoint each other. I like to say, I can talk about my loved ones and say what I like, but I darn tooting don’t want anybody else too! LOL!

    Here’s some more big hugs for Darla. God is so good! I can not begin to know the pain you have had to deal with in your life. I am so happy for you.

    Crystal, I can not imagine how difficult it must be for you with that much distance. I know you all are in each others hearts and I tell ya, as fast as time is flying for me, Christmas will be here before any of us are going to be ready! 🙂


Leave a Reply

