3 H Blog

Becoming Happy, Healthy, and Holy

Today’s Pen Pals February 18, 2008

Filed under: Happiness — miss3h @ 5:03 pm

I remember my grandma always having pen pals from the Pythiann Sisters Organization. It is a women’s organization that contributes to children’s homes and other charities. They would always be having “Secret Pals” or “Secret Santas”…or just plain ol’ pen pals.

It seems to be that blogging is like today’s generation of pen pals. We don’t really know each other well, but we have common interests and just like seeing what the other has to say. It is almost as good to see a comment back on a blog or myspace as it is to get a card in the mail.

It’s funny to think how technology affects our society, isn’t it? The idea of computers being used for communication is only about 15 years old. Can you imagine being a senior citizen and seeing things change from when there was no color t.v. to the technology we have today? Wow. A lady came to eat at our restaurant who just had her 101st birthday. What a trip that must be to have seen the entire past century. (And she still walks on her own with a cane!!!)

Thanks for being my virtual pen pals. Perhaps life has not changed so much in the past century after all. πŸ™‚

 

3 Responses to “Today’s Pen Pals”

  1. sabrina Says:

    101….I hope I live to be that age! It really would be interesting to sit around with my great-great-grandchildren and tell tales about when I was young….when phones had little strings that “tied” them to a wall, when we plugged in “tapes” to a stereo that then played our music, when cellphones were as big as (or bigger than) your head! [sigh]…how times change! (and who knows what else will!)

    I’d never thought about blogs in that way though…I still think there is something very special about receiving handwritten letters in the mail, but times do change. Blogs allow us to reach so many more people in so many different areas of the world….one blog can lead you to discover another and the possibilities are endless! I have read some blogs that have really changed the way I think about myself and my life (including mkrules!)…and when you think about it, they’re all strangers that if you ran into on the street, you wouldn’t know to thank them because you don’t know them!
    So thanks to all of you too! =)

  2. I do feel that way about the blog community. There are some people you connect with because of some similarity you share and sometimes, you find a deeper connection that evolves into a very real friendship. I do love tot get snail mail, too, but the speed of the internet is like an ongoing conversation.
    101 years old! Wow! My grandpa will be 92 in June. I hope I inherit that longevity. πŸ˜€

  3. MKShay Says:

    I love snail mail pen palling. There is something special about getting that letter in the mail. I used to write out all of the letters by hand, but my hands hurt too much for me to do that anymore. LOL

    But you are right – blogging and online friendships are very similar to pen pals. You “know” them, but you have never heard their voice or seen them.


Leave a Reply

