3 H Blog

Becoming Happy, Healthy, and Holy

Lent February 4, 2008

Filed under: Dieting,Happiness,Peace,Self-esteem,Solutions,Weight Loss — miss3h @ 10:50 pm

Every year, I choose to give up a few things and/or do a few things regularly during the period between Ash Wednesday (this Wednesday) and Easter (the end of Lent). I was not raised a Catholic, but a Methodist. Lent to a Methodist differs quite a bit from a Catholic. We simply choose something to give up…a symbol of Christ’s sacrifice for us…each year. And there is no cheating on Sundays! While I no longer consider myself a Methodist (now I prefer “bible church”), I still carry on this tradition. My aunt always gives up M&Ms, to which she is addicted! I change my sacrifice from year to year…

So this year I am giving up:
–> Fast food (with exception of salads)
–> Sodas
–> Foul language…such a bad habit!

And I am going to make the commitment to:
–> Exercise at least 80 min total (over 4 times weekly)
–> Do one 30 min bible study (5 times a week)

Pray for me! This will definetly be a Lent to remember and hopefully add glory to God and good habits to my life that will continue far after Easter has come and gone.

Do you celebrate Lent? What do you give up or do during Lent?

 

4 Responses to “Lent”

  1. Good sacrifices and goals. I’m giving up pop like I do every year. I’m taking up a healthy lifestyle: drink more water; eat more healthy foods; exercise regularly. Best of luck to you! :mrgreen:

  2. Angie Says:

    Excellent 3H
    I’m spending more time in His word, which I know will lead to my need to be consistent in drinking more water, yoga stretches, walk more, and cutting out some of my junk food..
    Blessings to you and Shades

  3. Hey Angie! It’s nice to see you back on the blogs. 🙂 Missed you.

  4. bray Says:

    This may be of interest to readers of this blog since it goes in to detail each week on how to use cutting-edge nutrition, exercise, and healthy lifestyle techniques to lose weight and live a healthier life. It’s free so I figured I would share it… you can sign up for the Trim, Tone & Tighten Thursdays newsletter at http://www.stephencabral.com


Leave a Reply

