3 H Blog

Becoming Happy, Healthy, and Holy

Forgiveness January 30, 2008

Filed under: Emotions,Happiness,Peace — miss3h @ 12:15 am

How many times a day do we conciously or sub-conciously forgive someone? If I had to venture a guess, I’d say between 10-20 times. Sure, we could stay mad at the lady who cut us off on the highway….or our spouses (enough said!)…or random people who offend us without even meaning to. But what is the point? The only one anger hurts is us. To truly lose our anger, we must forgive easily and truly show the Lord’s kindness in our daily lives.

Who do you forgive daily? Who do you need to forgive?

 

6 Responses to “Forgiveness”

  1. shadesofpink Says:

    To err is human; to forgive is divine. 🙂 I forget where that comes from. 😳

  2. Sabrina Says:

    “Forgiveness is the scent the violet releases upon the heel that has crushed it.”
    -Mark Twain

    One of the hardest things to do (coincidentally, its something I struggle with a great deal) is forgiving oneself. You can cling onto mistakes and struggle to let them go, but its vital to forgive yourself and continue to live life! Its so much more difficult than it sounds…but SO important!

  3. Angie Says:

    I was thinking that I am probably harder on myself than others especially when I allow myself to get upset and stressed over little things that are not going to mean a hill of beans one day.

    Yes it is sooooo important and more difficult than it sounds as Sabrina has mentioned.

    Sometimes I go over in my mind some hurt from the past and you are so right on, we hurt ourselves when we don’t forgive..oh, I say I forgive..the trick for me is to forget or at least to let it go..the hurt that is and pray for the one that did the offense or caused us to hurt.. I am working on that big time!

    We cannot allow ourselves as Gods children and heirs to get so stressed especially when we have a physical problem as that only makes it worse. So in the grand scope of faith. I suppose it comes down truly to trust..trust in Him. for all things!

    Thanks for the thought provoking article 3H

  4. “The only person anger hurts is us”. I think that many of us try to punish ourselves beyond what anyone else would ever care to.

    Self-forgiveness is a hard thing to master.

  5. shadesofpink Says:

    I’d have to agree. I have more trouble forgiving my own mistakes than those of others. Maybe because I can control my own actions and not the actions of others. Then I beat myself up when I do or say something I really didn’t mean.

  6. shadesofpink Says:

    And perhaps that is why it is best to forgive others. If we are saying how awful we feel when we have wronged others, perhaps they are in agony, too and when we forgive them, it helps them as much as (if not more than) it helps us.


Leave a Reply

