3 H Blog

Becoming Happy, Healthy, and Holy

Being a “Lady” January 12, 2008

Filed under: Etiquette,Happiness — miss3h @ 4:32 pm

“Where have all of the ladies gone? I’m not saying we can’t play games and have fun, but can’t we do it with actions that don’t make a man want to treat us like one of the guys? We have to act like a lady and act respectful to reap the benefits of being treated like a lady with respect – right? I really believe that women can vote, play games, and get paid a fair wage – and still act and get treated like a lady.

Want some symbolism? I’m about ready to throw out my slacks – instead of burning my bra! Be a lady, and be proud of it! (Then, maybe the men will wake up too.)” -by Starr Bragg

To me, a lady is someone who is strong in mind and character, but usually is very selfless. When I think of a lady, I think of someone who rarely (if ever) curses and also someone of a gentle nature. So should we behave like ladies? Can we be honest, women of 2008 AND be considered a lady? I think we can or at least should strive to. Being a lady, in my opinion, is more than appearing to be a lady-like person. To me, it is about being giving and putting others before ones self. For instance, in a group of women deciding where to eat lunch, the ladies in the group will be saying, “Where would you prefer to eat?”. The non-ladies (hmmm, what should we call them?) may be more forceful in attempting to get their way. It is one thing to give your opinion, but quite another to think that your opinion is best for a group.

I think I should attempt to be more of a lady. I think it can help in home life as well (as the above article mentions briefly). If I act as if I do not need my husband’s help or advice, why would he continue to offer it? If we were to make it more clear that we cannot always bear all the stress (in a loving way), it would help tremendously. I also truly believe that a man will feel better about himself if he is contributing more as well and have more self-esteem and happiness.

So what do you think? Is it worth the effort to change to become a more lady-like person?

More links on this topic:

Be a lady and proud of it! by Starr Bragg

Biblical Passages about “Ladies”

Blog on Modern Etiquette

 

8 Responses to “Being a “Lady””

  1. shadesofpink Says:

    Love the philosophy here and I totally agree. My husband, however, seems to want me to make the decisions. He gets upset when I ask him what he wants to do. What can I say? It’s my nature!

  2. miss3h Says:

    Oh mine does that, too. But I mean here that while our opinions are of value and wanted even, a lady does not push her choices or values onto others. It is a sign of respect.

  3. Angie Says:

    Good question..I agree with you that it comes down to respect for others. Our nature (sin nature) wants our own way. Can be a real conflict in marriage when one is doing most of the compromises..Thin line here..Think I will read your biblical post on it..
    On another thought..I am trying to add this link to my blogroll and somehow it just will not take..I tried on the automatic ‘add to blogroll’ no luck. Then tried manually with link. I must have left something out or whatever…any idea’s? Thanks!
    I love yours and Shades thoughts and posts.

  4. Angie Says:

    Read and saved to favs the biblical scriptures.
    Knew these but need to read often with an open mind…I like to think I have an open mind but who really knows how closed we are..

    Read the one from Modern Etiquette..
    “good communication is one of the biggest keys to good etiquette.” Is that a true statement or what?

  5. miss3h Says:

    That is sooooo true! Thanks for showing us that!

    Here is the verse I like on ladies…

    Proverbs 31:10-31
    “The heart of her husband trusts her,…She works with her hands in delight. She gives food to her household.

    She considers a field and buys it;…She stretches out her hand to the needy. She make linen garments and sells them,…the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

    Her children rise up and bless her; her husband also and he praises her saying: “Many daughters have done nobly, but you excel them all.” Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.”

  6. Romance Says:

    We were talking about this in our women’s Bible study last night!

    One of the main things I remember from premarital counseling is that as wives, we are to submit to our husbands–but that does not mean we are to be subservient! After all, the king of the house is nothing without his queen!

    To me, a lady allows her husband to lead the family, and encourages him to do so by offering her advice and willingly following his lead. Yet there are many times when a lady has to put her foot down (We need to fill the propane tank, NOT buy a plasma tv!) but it can still be done with grace and tact!

    As I frequently joke to my hubby: I must be treated like the delicate flower that I am!

  7. Rachel Says:

    I totally agree, I’m not very old (still in the teens) so i wouldn’t know anything about husbands and such.

    I just finished watching “Becoming Jane”. Through the movie I really watched how they talked, walked, and responded the things that made them scared or mad. It made me feel like a punk!!

    Especially in Jr. High and High School so many girl so do things just to “fit in with the guys”. I could even be accused of this from time to time. After watching movies like Pride & Predgiduce

  8. sunshine Says:

    I grew up without a mom and loved to hang out with my Dad. I am married and have a baby but still dont have some of the ‘lady like’ mannerisms.I am searching the net on how to sit like a lady, talk like a lady, think like a lady. My husband is romantic but my idea of romance is not flowers. It is tough comitted love. He is kind ,gentle and sensitive and loves to cook but i prefer to show off karate kicks and am allergic to the kitchen. We have a great time though and adore spending time with each other and cracking jokes about how different we are. I guess In CHRIST there is no male or female….


Leave a Reply

