3 H Blog

Becoming Happy, Healthy, and Holy

The Mental Debate Rolls On… July 18, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — miss3h @ 12:24 am

I have debated, weighed the pros and cons, pondered, basically changed my mind at whim…why? Yep. It’s 10-year-reunion time. I’m going (I think?)…but not without fear(s).

The Fears
1. My husband. Although I have a very handsome and (in my eyes) successful hubby, he will not be able to attend my high school reunion. I’m sure he is glad to get out of it…lol…but I feel like my security blankie has just been flushed down the toilet! PLUS…hubby is a soldier and I absolutely do not want my reunion to turn into a political debate. Might kinda put a damper on the “fun”. I plan to take lots of pics of him and my cute doggies for people to see. He exists! I swear! lol

2. I’m no longer 110 lbs. I know I still look alright, but seriously, in high school I was super thin. Kinda hard to not look fatter than 110, ya know? So far I am on track to be at my goal weight by September (no…not 110), but I still feel very self-conscious about going.

3. People are judgemental. So I’m a waitress. Yes, I make much more than people might think…but like I am gonna go around telling everyone how much I make! It is just silly that those who do not work at all might look down on my profession. *sigh* I imagine running into a former bimbo telling me she is now a rocket scientist for NASA and then smiling with perfect veneers and asking, “So what do you do?” I’m just gonna have to suck it up and deal with it I guess.

Despite all these fears, I want to go to the reunion. I had lots of friends in different circles. So even though my best friends might not attend, there are plenty of others that I would like to catch up with. Many I have only contacted through myspace and not seen since ’98, so that is the fun part.

So did you go to your 10 year reunion? And if not, why? If so, how did it go?

 

7 Responses to “The Mental Debate Rolls On…”

  1. steph Says:

    if i went with you, would you feel better about going? and maybe we could convince jo to go. i know we said we wouldn’t go, but if you need some moral support, i’ll go. :) it would be fun and we could avoid/make fun of the people we don’t like.

    hmm? :)

  2. sandrajo Says:

    I did go to my 10 & 20 year reunion – and have not gone back since (this year is my 30th). I was so sad at the way people were just like they were in high school – same crowds, same games played. It was like we had grown up at all. Also, I found myself wanting to impress everyone, which is not a good place for me to be. After the reunion, I did not think much about the other people, only how I presented myself — I can only assume that it was the same way with other’s.
    Be yourself and display the gifts that God has blessed you with – and you will be pleased with yourself. God finds great delight in you and I pray that you will be able to share that with your high school friends.

    Sandy
    Recognize and Remember
    http://www.sandrajo.wordpress.com

  3. miss3h Says:

    Thanks to Sandra Jo for the insight. That is how I am feeling, that I may be too caught up in impressing. In the end, my classmates will probably be too concerned with what I thought of them to even notice much! lol

    Steph, I think I am still gonna go…but if you wanna go with that would be awesome! :)

  4. kare Says:

    Honestly, I had a good time at my 10-year reunion. I chatted with a few people I had not seen for a long time. It was nice catching up. We had a very laid-back and relaxed time of it.

    Hated hubby’s reunion though. :-p Ugh. Hardly anyone would talk with us!

  5. I didn’t go to mine. I still talk to all the peeps I want to keep in touch with. I don’t need a reunion to see them. ;) I’m not even sure our 10 yr had a good turn out. I heard there wasn’t much response. Oh well. I have no desire to go to my 20 yr either. Hmph! :cool:

  6. Andi O Says:

    With myspace and facebook and blog pages, you could look up anyone you wanted to and see what they’re doing now. So, you can already find out what all those ‘popular, pretty’ girls from HS are doing – then you have no need to talk to them, and you can spend the reunion chatting with friends you may talk to all the time, but don’t get to see in person.

    And, if all else fails – you could always invent the post-it note!

  7. Colleen Says:

    I didnt go to my reunion either I was thinking everyone there would be highly successful, but I heard there were divorces and some people were big and out of shape and they were afraid to go too. I guess everyone wanted to impress.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.