3 H Blog

Becoming Happy, Healthy, and Holy

Clean House! July 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — miss3h @ 12:30 pm

They say cleanliness is next to godliness. Well, I’m not sure I believe all that…but it does feel good to be clean and organized. My house has been a wreck for a few weeks now. Last week I did actually get some gumption to at least clean the kitchen after admitting to a friend that it was ridiculously dirty in my house. Today, I have been cleaning the rest: bathroom, floors (including steam cleaning), laundry, the whole she-bang. This weekend I will just have to work on filing the mail that I allowed to pile up.

I’m not sure that being clean brings you closer to God on its own, but with some work, it could! I mean, you could put on some praise music while you clean and even sing along. And you will feel obedient after the work is done because God certainly must be disappointed in my recent pity party and laziness. I pray to thank Him for strength, good friends, and motivation. :)

–> What the bible says about laziness:

Proverbs 19:15 says, “Laziness brings on deep sleep, and the shiftless man goes hungry.”

I think this means that being lazy only breeds more laziness. I mean, as your mess grows, so does your comtempt for having to clean it up! It seems more and more futile to try to get it clean. However…

–>What the bible says about hard work:

Revelation 2:2 says, “I know your deeds, your hard work and your perseverance.”
Proverbs 14:23 says, “All hard work brings a profit, but mere talk leads only to poverty.”

So I guess cleanliness is pleasing to God. It requires hard work and perserverance. It brings a profit of the pure joy of accomplishment.

Do you guys read The Fly Lady website? She is really funny and motivating. I need to start reading her site more and following her advice.

Gottta go clean more! I hope you get time to do some de-cluttering of your own life this week. You’ll be surprised how much stress you can relieve by getting some things done that you have been putting off. :)

 

2 Responses to “Clean House!”

  1. Huge Flylady fan. Do her routines consistently. Love it.

  2. ‘still workig on this too!
    since I ahd the kitchen redone, I spend a lot of time cleaning up in the kitchen. and I neglected the rest of the house… we have a pretty old house and it takes a lot to get motivated to keep the house clean… (‘not using that as an excuse) I really try hard but I think i am mostly overwhelmed. I just finished painting and cleaning my daughter’s bedroom. I intend to do it room by room so I get focused an dnot overwhelmed. next stop is my bedroom – then my son’s then the dreaded basement. I love the fly lady but I also need to be consistent.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.